Low Priority Setting

In the Hardware Settings stage of the Setup process, there is a Low Priority setting beneath the Hardware Summary, as shown below:

low_priority_green.png

When to Use Low Priority Mode

The Low Priority setting allows you to run your job at a reduced price point, but comes with some restrictions. Overall, the reliability of low priority mode is lower than that for on-demand and selecting this mode could cause a maximum delay in run-time of one time the job's run-time. As a result, the low priority option is not generally recommended for jobs with long run times or subject to upcoming deadlines.

Meanings of the Low Priority Settings

If you do decide to use Low Priority mode, when Low Priority check box has the green, or Immediate label, your job will run immediately in a low priority mode.

green_meaning.png

When the Low Priority check box has the yellow, or Queued label, your job may be queued in a low priority mode prior to execution.

yellow_meaning.png

When the Low Priority check box has the red, or Not Recommended label, low priority mode is not recommended and your job may not start for a while.

red_meaning.png

Switching to On-Demand Mode

At any time after submitting a Low Priority job, prior to that job being launched, you can elect to upgrade your job to on-demand mode on the Status Page.

The job described in this example was started with Low Priority while that setting was in the Not Recommended mode. After this job was submitted, it was queued. The queued status is brought to your attention at the top-left of the Status page and in the Status page Job Log, shown below. Notice the Run It Now button at the top-right of the Status page. This feature allows you you to change your job priority from Low Priority to on-demand.

red_job_status.png

The image below shows what happens after the Run It Now button is pressed. The job, which was previously queued in a Low Priority state, now satisfies the preconditions for launch and the cluster is started. If you were to go back to check the Low Priority check box in the Status page it would also be unset.

run_it_now_log.png